American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network Awards Reception Honoring State Senator Jerry Hill and Sacramento City Councilmember Steve Hansen

Thursday, August 13, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:15pm


American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network

Annual California Legislative Awards Reception

Thursday August 13th

5:00-6:15 pm

This event will be a Zoom videoconference

But you must RSVP by August 10th to get link to event

Registration for this event has closed. However you can still participate by following the link below before the event start, at 5:00PM pacific time:



State Legislator of the Year Senator Jerry Hill

Author of pending legislation to end the sale of flavored tobacco in California (SB 793)


Local Legislator of the Year Sacramento City Councilmember Steve Hansen

Author of successful City of Sacramento ordinance to end the sale of flavored tobacco


We will also be honoring:

Senator Lena Gonzalez for accepting ACS CAN’s Snuff Tobacco Out of California Politics pledge


Flavored Tobacco: Will California Stop Big Tobacco’s Latest Deadly Scheme?

  • Dr. Stan Glantz, Director, Center for Tobacco Control and Research, UCSF
  • Carol McGruder, Co-Chair African American Tobacco Control Leadership Council
  • Additional speakers invited


Special Thanks to our Sponsors











Bristol Myers Squibb

Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals



California Life Sciences Association

Janssen Oncology

        Olson Remcho 

This event serves to support the American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network, the nonprofit, nonpartisan advocacy affiliate of the American Cancer Society. With your help, ACS CAN is building a nationwide grassroots movement of advocates to help put fighting cancer at the top of the nation’s agenda by educating the public, lawmakers, candidates, and the media, while also empowering cancer patients, survivors, caregivers, and their families to take action.

For more information please call or email Autumn Ogden-Smith at 916-206-9686 or [email protected].

Donate Here